top of page

What Is a Four-Point Inspection?

Four-point home inspections are inspections designed to evaluate the four major systems of your home.
These include the roofing, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning) systems.
These types of inspections are usually ordered by homeowners insurance companies to evaluate their risk before issuing a homeowners insurance policy.

The Benefits of Four-Point Inspections

They Can Help You Save Money on Your Homeowners’ Insurance Premium

Not every homeowners insurance company requires a four-point inspection before insuring a home. But as an incentive, some companies will offer you a discount on your premium if you have a four-point inspection completed – and especially if your home meets certain safety standards.

They’re Proactive Ways to Identify Existing or Future Issues

Four-point home inspections cover only the major systems of your home. But it’s for good reason. These systems are the ones most likely to need costly repairs at some point during their operating life. Getting ahead of brewing issues with a four-point inspection helps you plan for the cost of future repairs and replacements. It also helps homeowners insurance companies more accurately quote your home’s insurance premium.

bottom of page